HEDNESFORD 31 07 2011-2011

Hednesford 31st July Bill Morris Trophy

Fry takes a hat trick

The National championship weekend at Hednesford Hills Raceway hosts some of the finest racing of the year. The classic hot rods race for the Bill Morris Memorial trophy ( Bill, being the man responsible for the opening of the track). Bill passed away a few years back and his daughter presents the trophy on behalf of the family.

Bill Morris was a man with a vision when he turned the used reservoir into a short oval raceway , perhaps not realising how well it would do and how long it would be there. Although we have had other promoters since Bill he will not be forgotten.

With around twenty one cars booked into race I think we were only two short of the mark on the day. Never the less as usual a fine display of classic racing was to be seen.

Heat one was out to line up , Lee Wood out in a new car which was built in Ireland and featured in Junes issue of retro ford on front row with Mike Oliver in a borrowed Darren Owen car. The race was under way Oliver making the first move but getting chased down by the pack headed up by veteran Dave Fry. David Owen in his Mk1 was spun coming out of turn four by a charging Bowring in his Anglia. Meanwhile, Rick Fray was on the infield with the car looking to set alight for a second time this year but was quickly extinguished by the marshals. Dean Raggett met with the Armco as he spun out on turn two causing a fair bit of damage to the car. As the last few laps closed in so did Dave Fry to take the opening victory of the day.

Heat two obviously down a couple of cars . Lee Wood was away from the start and looked uncatchable. With a handful of laps in contention the car began to show signs of overheating as steam from under the front forcing him to pull into the safe area. A mid pack was a battle between Owen, Wright, Oliver and Dave Holden; Causing some delay for a charging Owen who made progress has they all pushed through in turns three and four. However it was too late as Dave Fry hadclaimed victory number two.

The last race of the day is always the Bill Morris trophy not to be confused with being a national championship as are the main races on the same day for the other formulas.

The cars lined up with Oliver out at the front on his own and current holder of the trophy Darren Owen bringing up the rear. Has the cars powered their way round the oval it was Fry who first passed Oliver relieving him of his early lead the came a fast chasing Owen . Sam Mitchell was spun coming out of turn two landing sideways on up the winner ramp ending his race. For Owen just not enough laps were left to catch Fry and settling for second place this year ahead of Oliver in third. A hat trick for the fastest veteran of the oval and yet another excellent days racing at Hednesford Hills.

Comments are closed.